Playing golf in St Andrews, Scotland

golf de St Andrews - The Old Course Club-House green of the 18

Le Berceau Du Golf - The Home Of Golf

St Andrews is the home of golf. It is the only place in the world where you can feel the spirit of golf in all its splendour and authenticity. The town is stunningly beautiful, especially around the castle and cathedral ruins which are perched above the bay. Add to this countless pubs to relax in after your round of golf. The St Andrews area is a must for all golf lovers.

A pilgrimage to the "Home of golf" is an essential step in the life of all passionate golfers. A golfing holiday in St Andrews will offer the golfer relaxation, sport and nature in a setting steeped in golfing history and tradition. 

Far from American-style target golf, playing golf in Scotland allows golfers to reconnect with the essence of the game of golf.

  • Rolling the ball, sometimes with putts of more than 30 meters.
  • Facing the dreaded "Bunker Trap" or simply getting the ball out is a feat
  • Choosing the right club and adapting its trajectories according to the sometimes violent winds. 
  • Humbly refocusing when your ball is swallowed up by wild roughs.

All these aspects allow golfers to reconnect with the tradition of the sport.

Golf courses in St Andrews

The Old Course St Andrews

The golf courses in St Andrews offer an unforgettable experience. The world famous Old Course is of course at the head of this golfers paradise. No one knows exactly how long golf has been played on this hallowed course, but what is certain is that the St Andrews Old Course is one of the oldest on the planet and arguably the most famous course in the world.

The course itself is sure to surprise you if you've ever watched The Open . The TV broadcast seems to flatten the course but once you're on it, the dunes, roughs, slopes and elevations are much more pronounced and striking than you might think. The course's landmarks and features such as the Swilcan Burn, Swilcan Bridge and Valley of Sin will no doubt be familiar to you, evoking memories of the great champions who have won here over the years.

Former champions of the St Andrews Open include Bobby Jones, Seve Ballesteros and Tiger Woods. It is also where in 2005, the legendary Jack Nicklaus made an emotional farewell from the Swilcan Bridge.

Golf courses and hotels in St Andrews

Discover the golf courses and a selection of the most beautiful hotels in Saint Andrews on the Lecoingolf golf map.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
  • Smaja Bernard
    9 February 2021 at 08:23

    Finally a useful site for golfers
    Very well documented and easy to access
    Pictures and comments make you dream
    Bravo

  • Richard Loring
    23 February 2021 at 01:38

    Send to Richard Loring
    1208 Burr St
    JacksonnMichigan 49 FB

  • Richard Loring
    23 February 2021 at 01:41

    Send information. Planning on visiting this great golf venue

  • Richard Loring
    23 February 2021 at 01:42

    Call 517 918-2625 Email: [email protected]

Add a comment
You can also discover
en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish

Jouer au golf à St Andrews en Ecosse

golf de St Andrews - The Old Course Club-House green du 18

Le Berceau Du Golf - Le Home Of Golf

St Andrews représente le berceau du golf. C’est le seul endroit au monde où l’on peut sentir l’esprit du golf dans toute sa splendeur et son authenticité. La ville est d’une beauté saisissante, en particulier autour du château et des ruines de la cathédrale qui sont perchés au-dessus de la baie. Ajoutez à cela d’innombrables pubs pour vous détendre après votre partie de golf . La région de st Andrews est la destination incontournable de tous les amoureux du golf.

Un pèlerinage dans le “Home of golf” est une étape incontournable dans la vie de tous les joueurs de golf passionnés. En effet un séjour golf à St Andrews offrira au golfeur :  détente, sport et nature dans un cadre chargé d’histoire  et de traditions golfiques. 

Loin du golf à cible à l’américaine,  jouer au golf en Ecosse permet aux golfeurs de renouer avec l’essence même du jeu de golf.

  • Faire rouler la balle avec parfois des putts de plus de 30 mètres
  • Affronter les redoutables “Bunker Trap” ou simplement sortir sa balle relève de l’exploit
  • Choisir le bon club et adapter ses trajectoires  en fonction des vents parfois violents 
  • Se recentrer humblement quand sa balle est englouti par des roughs sauvages

Autant d’aspects qui permettent aux golfeurs de renouer avec la tradition de ce sport .

Le Old Course St Andrews

Les parcours de golf à St Andrews offrent une expérience inoubliable. Le Old Course, célèbre dans le monde entier, se trouve bien entendu à la tête de ce paradis des golfeurs. Personne ne sait exactement depuis combien de temps on joue au golf sur ce terrain sanctifié, mais ce qui est certain, c’est que le St Andrews Old Course est l’un des plus anciens de la planète et sans doute le plus célèbre parcours du monde.

Si le parcours en lui-même ne manquera pas de vous surprendre si vous avez déjà regardé The Open . La retransmission télévisée semble aplatir le parcours mais une fois sur celui-ci, les dunes, les roughs, les pentes et les dénivelés sont beaucoup plus prononcés et saisissants que vous ne le pensez. Les emblèmes et les caractéristiques du parcours tels que le Swilcan Burn, le Swilcan Bridge et la Valley of Sin vous seront sans doute familiers, évoquant les souvenirs des grands champions qui ont gagné ici au fil des ans.

Parmi les anciens champions de l’Open de St Andrews figurent Bobby Jones,, Seve Ballesteros ou encore Tiger Woods. C’est là aussi qu’en 2005, le légendaire Jack Nicklaus a fait des adieux émouvants depuis le Swilcan Bridge.

Golfs et hôtels à St Andrews

Découvrez les golfs et une sélection des plus beaux hôtels à Saint Andrews sur la carte des golfs Lecoingolf.

Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur linkedin
Partager sur whatsapp
Partager sur email
  • Smaja Bernard
    9 février 2021 au 08:23

    Enfin un site utile pour les golfeurs
    Tres bien documenté facile d accès
    Les images et les commentaires font rêver
    Bravo

  • Richard Loring
    23 février 2021 au 01:38

    Send to Richard Loring
    1208 Burr St
    JacksonnMichigan 49 FB

  • Richard Loring
    23 février 2021 au 01:41

    Send information. Planning on visiting this great golf venue

  • Richard Loring
    23 février 2021 au 01:42

    Call 517 918-2625 Email: [email protected]

Ajouter votre commentaire
Découvrez aussi
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais