Robert Trent Jones - Profession: Golf Architect

Robert Trent Jones Sr. 1906-2000 Golf Architect

Robert Trent Jones was the most prolific and influential golf course architect of the twentieth century and became the archetypal modern golf course designer. Jones spread the values of golf by designing courses in forty-two American states and twenty-eight countries.

Golf de Joyenval Bunker rough fairway green of 18 Club-house Joyenval Golf Course - Championship course designed by Robert Trent Jones Sr.

Twenty major U.S. Open tournaments have been played on courses designed by Jones. James R. Hansen, New York Times bestselling biographer and author of First Man: The Life of Neil A. Armstrong, tells the story of how a young English immigrant arrived in upstate New York in 1912, just as golf was becoming a popular pastime in America.

Jones excelled as a golfer and was admitted to Cornell University, where the faculty accepted a curriculum designed to teach him the skills necessary to design golf courses. Cornell was the springboard for the development of his talent and artistry and propelled him from anonymity to worldwide fame.

Jones thought that each hole should be "a difficult par but an easy bogey".

In the various golf magazines that rank the greatest golf courses, there are regularly about 50 projects by Jones, paving the way for his two sons, Robert Jr. and Rees, whose work would carry on their father's tradition. 

Discover some of the most beautiful golf courses designed by the Trent Jones family

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
mood_bad
  • No comments yet.
  • Add a comment
    You can also discover
    en_USEnglish
    fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish

Robert Trent Jones – Profession : Architecte de golf

Robert Trent Jones Sr. 1906-2000 Architecte de golf

Robert Trent Jones fut l’architecte de terrains de golf le plus prolifique et le plus influent du vingtième siècle et devint ainsi l’archétype du concepteur de parcours de golf moderne. Jones a répandu les valeurs du golf en concevant des parcours dans quarante-deux États américains et vingt-huit pays.

Golf de Joyenval Bunker rough fairway green du 18 Club-house Le golf de Joyenval – parcours de championnat signé Robert Trent Jones Sr.

Vingt tournois majeurs de l’U.S. Open, ( le championnat national américain), ont été disputés sur des parcours conçus par Jones. James R. Hansen, biographe à succès du New York Times et auteur de First Man : The Life of Neil A. Armstrong, raconte comment un jeune immigrant anglais est arrivé dans le nord de l’État de New York en 1912, au moment où le golf devenait un passe-temps populaire en Amérique.

Jones a excellé en tant que golfeur et a été admis à l’université Cornell, dont la faculté a accepté un programme d’études conçu pour lui enseigner les connaissances nécessaires à la conception de terrains de golf. Cornell a été le tremplin nécessaire au développement de son talent et de son art et l’a propulsé de l’anonymat à une renommée mondiale.

Jones pensait que chaque trou devait être “un par difficile mais un bogey facile”.

Dans les différents magazines de golf qui établissent le classement des plus grands terrains de golf, on trouve régulièrement une cinquantaine de projets de Jones, ouvrant la voie à ses deux fils, Robert Jr. et Rees, dont le travail allait perpétuer la tradition de leur père. 

Découvrez quelques-uns des plus beaux parcours de golf signés par la famille Trent Jones

Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur linkedin
Partager sur whatsapp
Partager sur email
mood_bad
  • Aucun commentaire pour l'instant.
  • Ajouter votre commentaire
    Découvrez aussi
    fr_FRFrançais
    en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais